SDBS banner

Meet Your Board

San Diego Bead Society is not possible without the hard work and meticulous planning of numerous people, not to mention lots of volunteer hours!

2023 Board of Directors

The Board of the San Diego Bead Society meets at least six times a year to provide direction for the programs and activities of the Society.  The 2023 Board members are:

Ellen Kroll – President, Parliamentarian
Amy Butzen – VP of Programs, Class Coordinator, Graphics Coordinator
Michele Lane – VP of Membership
Laurie Klitzke – Treasurer
Janice Crocker/DeeAnn Chenn — Outreach Coordinators
Carol Moore – Librarian
DeeAnn Chenn — Secretary
Viola Sullivan — Special Events/Hospitality
Emily Kathe – Webmistress
Kaytee Sumida – Social Media Coordinator

President (elected position), Parliamentarian — Ellen Kroll

When I retired, we were going back and forth between New York and San Diego.  I started beading in 2001 when I took a course in Introductory Beading through the Craft Student League in Manhattan, and then took more courses whenever we were in New York. In San Diego, the Bead Society has been a wonderful way to learn more about all kinds of beading (micromacrame, soutache, embroidery, wirework) and to expand my craftsmanship in working with seed beads. The best part has been meeting, working with, and getting to know other beaders.

Vice President/Programs (elected position) — Amy Butzen

My life has always been about design, color, texture and creating something using all those elements. I have been a graphic designer for the past 25 years and Interior Designer before that. Art has been a part of my life and beading was a perfect fit for me to do in my spare time. I think its taken over a little, but I have made some incredible friends through bead retreats and classes, I have traveled to wonderful new places, even the South of France, and made friends all over the world. It is truly my happy place.

Vice President/Membership (elected position) — Michele Lane

Treasurer (elected position) — Laurie Klitzke

Outreach Coordinators — Janice Crocker/DeeAnn Chen

Librarian — Carol Moore

Secretary — DeeAnn Chen

Special Events/Hospitality — Viola Sullivan

Webmistress — Emily Kathe

Social Media Coordinator — Kaytee Sumida